December Releases: New Books from HMH and Clarion!

Fill your stockings with the newest books from from HMH Books for Young Readers and Clarion Books. We have titles for all ages hot off the presses! Check out a sampling of our December hardcover releases below…

Picture Books:
Why be afraid of the dark when there is so much to see? Author and elementary school librarian W.H. Beck brings the glowing world of bioluminescence to light in Glow: Animals with Their Own Night-lights, a young non-fiction picture book illustrated with stunning photographs for readers ages 4 – 8. (Available Dec. 15th.)

Chapter Books:
Emerging and newly-independent readers are sure to recognize themselves in Don’t Feed the Geckos!, the third installment in The Carver Chronicles by Coretta Scott King Honor Award winner Karen English, illustrated by Laura Freeman. These humorous books feature a diverse cast of characters, kid-friendly charm, and plenty of humor for readers ages 6 – 9. (Available Dec. 1st.)

DecBooks

Middle Grade:
Part mystery, part literary puzzle, part life-and-death adventure, and infused with a frightening kind of magic, the story of young teens Rosemary and Adam trying to bring Adam’s sister back after she disappears—even from memory—is suspenseful enough for adventure fans and a treat for readers who love books and words. The Rosemary Spell by Virginia Zimmerman is a fun, exciting read for kids ages 10 – 12. (Available Dec. 1st)

Nonfiction:
Newbery Honor and Sibert Medal winner Jim Murphy presents the heroes, both acknowledged and unsung, behind a revolutionary life-saving surgical procedure in Breakthrough!: How Three People Saved “Blue Babies” and Changed Medicine Forever. This compelling narrative charts the medical and social breakthroughs of the people involved and is a great choice for young readers interested in medicine, history, and Civil Rights. (Available Dec. 8th.)

DecBooks2

Young Adult:
In early 19th century England, Josie, 16, finds herself in a sinister place with mysterious, hostile people, including her own relatives. Persistence and determination drive her to uncover the town’s horrifying secret—a conspiracy to wreck and plunder ships—despite obstacles natural and supernatural in Forbidden by Eve Bunting. (Available Dec. 1st.)

This Raging Light by debut novelist Estelle Laure is perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Jandy Nelson, and Rainbow Rowell. In it, Lucille’s dad goes crazy. Her mom leaves town. She has bills to pay and a little sister to look after. Now is not the time for level-headed seventeen-year-old to fall in love. But love—messy, inconvenient love—is what she’s about to experience when she falls for Digby Jones, her best friend’s brother. With blazing longing that builds to a fever pitch, this soulful debut will keep readers hooked and hoping until the very last page. (Available Dec. 22nd.)

?>