Congrats to All our ALA Award Winners!


Yesterday, the American Library Association (ALA) announced the top books, video and audio books for children and young adults – including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery and Printz awards – at its Midwinter Meeting in Chicago.

Congrats to all the 2015 Youth Media Award Winners, including the following HMH Books for Young Readers and Clarion titles and authors! For a full list of winners, visit

John Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott King Honor Award:

2p_THE CROSSOVER jacket.indd

THE CROSSOVER by Kwame Alexander has won the John Newbery Medal AND a Coretta Scott King Honor Award! The Newbery Medal is given to the most distinguished American children’s book published in the previous year. The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.

Caldecott Honor Award:


NANA IN THE CITY by Lauren Castillo has won a Caldecott Honor Award, given to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children published in the previous year.

Schneider Family Book Award:


A BOY AND A JAGUAR by Alan Rabinowitz, illustrated by Catia Chien has won the Schneider Family Book Award in the picture book category. The Schneider Family Book Award honors the author and illustrator of a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Award:


MR. PUTTER AND TABBY TURN THE PAGE by Cynthia Rylant, illustrated by Arthur Howard has won a Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Award, given to the author and illustrator of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults:


IDA M. TARBELL: THE WOMAN WHO CHALLENGED BIG BUSINESS—AND WON! by Emily Arnold McCully has won a YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults, which honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) during a November 1 – October 31 publishing year.

Alex Award:


BELLWEATHER RHAPSODY by Kate Racculia has won an Alex Award, given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18. The winning titles are selected from the previous year’s publishing.

Congrats to all our winners!